Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Wizards of the Coast » DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e) » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e) $2.99 $2.24
Average Rating:3.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 8
1 16
0 9
1 3
0 0
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to view
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2018 10:41:57

I originally intended to run this as the third part of the trilogy, but ended up with an entirely different table from the first two parts. So I played up the beginning with the faction contacts, and also ended up having to move one of the baddies from the second encounter into the final encounter for timing purposes. This should really be a 4 hour module with the added difficulty from things that may or may not happen depending on the table; it ran about 3.5 hours for my table of 6.

I do agree that it's a bit of an underwhelming finale, particularly after the craziness of the middle portion. But it's very much a combat-focused module, and that's sometimes what happens. And there's enough here to work with that most players will have fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2018 22:18:54

It's very much classic undead-slaying, as another reviewer pointed out. There are also a couple of RAW violations with the awakened creatures, which the party's druid who likes to awaken things pointed out. It's really nothing special, and my party seemed to want to just slog through it as quickly as possible. That desire wasn't helped by the four combats in two hours---this did fill up a 4 hour slot and then some.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2018 21:12:37

HOWDY ADVENTURERS! Putting the Dead to Rest brings your party to deep jungle. The soulmonger threatens all and challenges are plentiful. The mod is decently challenging and the final encounters intersting and very fun! The reward. EPIC! The greatest challenge faced turned out being the secret mission for the Order of the Guantlet in this mod. A party with this optional objective that makes some dicey decisions can be hard pressed bot to have thr death curse grab them! The resource attrition is real! Check it out!!! ALL THE ADVENTURE!!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 18:12:29

fun classic undead slaying. clerics and paladins will have fun



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2018 13:51:51

This was a satisfying conclusion to the Tier II trilogy. The well crafted story of the two main antogonists is very difficult to present to the playes as written. In retrospect, I'd introduce some more exposition to reveal the pathos of the story and get the players a little conflicted about their course of action. The first encounter's a little flawed as you cannot awaken a monstrosity (RAW).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 18:21:15

Pretty good adventure if a bit combat-heavy. The sheer amount of combat encounters make it pretty much impossible to complete the module in 2 hours. My group took 4.5 hours and we didn't do that much roleplay (and that was without any Gauntlet/Zhentarim which would have added 2 more encounetrs).
I really enjoyed the use of awakened creatures in this adventure, especially the apes at the start. The fights themselves were kinda easy for Tier 2 especially after the previous part of the trilogie but my group really enjoyed the kinda gimmicky fight at the end (though I have to question the inclusion of Call Lightning in the druids spell list). As a DM I also really enjoyed the inclusion of Rhaugilath in the backstory, always great to see known faces again.
The Appendix was a bit confusing since it includes creatures that don't actually appear by name as part of the encounters. I assume the Vine Blights were intended as the trees in the final chamber in awakened form. No idea about the girallon though.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2018 12:27:45

I ran The Rot From Within trilogy when our hardcover adventure made it back to Port Nyanzaru. The hooks into each adventure and the trilogy as a whole were fantastic (though I recommend DDAL07-07 before DDAL07-06), and it served as a great interlude.

Be warned: this is not a 2-hour module.

Our group usually makes it through a 2-hour module in the 3 hours allotted to us. I deliberately slow things down and let them take their time to make for a more fulfilling experience, rather than finishing half an hour early or more.

For this module, I warned my group that it is very long for a 2-hour module, and that I would need them to move more quickly through combat in particular. We started about 10 minutes early, and managed to finish this module in 3.5 hours, going just over our allotted timeslot, despite rushing through it. If you have the appropriate-faction PCs in your group, there are four fights. We skipped the faction-specific fight entirely; I simply estimated how long it would take them to defeat the single enemy (2 rounds), and simulated the effects of it making attacks for those rounds, so that they would be appropriately worn down for the last fight.

Three Pillars breakdown:

Combat: 75%, 5/5: Combat is well-balanced and compelling (my party loved the girallons and giant ape)

Exploration: 15%, 3/5: not much to explore, and what there is is... slightly confusing

Roleplay: 10%, 4/5: Very little roleplay, though it is compelling and feels good for the players



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 20:53:06

A bit of a run-of-the-mill combat slog through some interesting set pieces. This is a highly dangerous adventure for characters to play due to the max HP-reducing enemies and the death curse. With some care from the DM this can be a fun adventure for parties interested in combat and not much else.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2018 05:16:07

Generally enjoyable module with an interesting villain. Its not the best of the trilogy, but it works well to close out the arc.

If the party has a druid the treasure is fantastic. If not, it is a massive disappointment.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2018 16:47:20

What was good.

  1. It has a great reward in the end for a certain class.
  2. The second combat was pretty interesting if run right

Were it missed the mark

  1. Most of the combats were pretty simplistic and not very interesting.
  2. Social aspect was non existant.
  3. Exploration aspect was non existant
  4. Some confusion towards the end. Not sure if you needed a certain faction to finish or not.
  5. Faction secret mission was a little vague and not very interesting.
  6. Final Battle was not very intersting and pretty easy IMHO.
  7. Not very many clues to allow players to discover the story. Was more like the BBEG monologueing so that the characters understood the story.

If you have a Druid PC then run this otherwise I would pass.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mathieu P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 20:16:33

This module was enjoyable.

But I must admit it felt a bit like it lacked something... I think I really really liked DDAL07-07 so I got my expectations pretty high for the final chapter of the trilogy.

Also, I think it is too bad that this module REAAALLY overlaps with one of the Guild Adept adventures Ruins of Matolo.

So a great module. Playable in 2 hours no problem. But missing a little something.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by FJ A. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2018 13:16:11

A great ending to the storyline that started in DDAL07-06 and continued in DDAL07-07. The players really enjoyed the adventure, especially the combat and roleplaying with the faction agents. I can see where the end combat would be difficult, but the sorcerer in the party got really lucky with a fireball! I had the same group run throgh all three adventures so that probably enhanced the enjoyment, but overall a great mod and series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scooter O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2018 13:39:26

This adventure is immersive if your players are able to recall the name the NPCs constantly mentioned. This helps bring closure in the end to the series, but that's dependent on the roleplay involvement of the party. For some, it was just waiting for combat and the combats were rather long on a big table.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2018 12:35:24

Worth your time to play but not an amazing adventure compared to the last ones. This is can be a tougher fight for a tier 2 party depending on makeup. It has weird references to the Atropal like it is dead, just didn't full flesh this part out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeffrey F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/18/2018 10:28:38

DDAL 7-08 Putting the Dead to Rest is an Adventure League adventure for levels 5-10 that should take about two hours to play. (Though it can easily go long) It is written for 5 characters of 8th level.

Part One is quick and two the point. It's always nice to get a chance to interact with some of the factions and this is no exception. It moves us along to part two nicely.

Part Two is a brief combat encounter which is thematic and fun for Chult. It can also be spiced up if a member of a certain faction is with the group.

Part Three starts the wrapping up of plots with a cool fight scene that can be followed with another interesting fight if you have a member of the correct faction. Then we get the end boss fight which is pretty cool and well thought out.

Overall this is a great module. It runs into the Adventure League issue of under awarding XP to players as it caps at 3,000xp but the required fights would provide nearly 4,000xp to the players before accounting for how certain factions change the scenario. The maps included are a little basic but the optional maps that can be purchased separately are excellent. The story is great and it's a great finish to the trilogy.

Also I should note that the Tricks of the Trade sections are extremely helpful and well thought out. The only thing it's really missing is a Fantasy grounds .mod file. But that won't keep it from it's deserved score.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 36 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG