Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Zadmar Games » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/12/2018 21:33:32

This is a ridiculously professional product for a free product. This outright shames a large number of commercial products on production values. That alone would be impressive, and then you get into the sheer amount of flavorful rules stuff. The author seems to have a mindset similar to mine: Don't shy away from Edges, Hindrances and Setting Rules if they will serve the setting better than just throwing "trappings" on everything. Savage Worlds is fast enough and robust enough to handle it without dragging down. Don't do it for it's own sake, but don't be scared to let the rules serve your game.

The flavor of the setting is great, and the Edges, Hindrances, random tables and setting rules feed into that. The setting itself is only broadly detailed. That makes sense, as most of these jokers aren't even going to understand the concept of detailed demographic information, much less have any use for it.

The layout of the Plot Point Campaign is beautiful and unique. I LOVE it when a PPC or an adventure path or whatever is written so that what the PCs do matters, and most aren't written that way. There are challenges but the heroes are expected to overcome those challenges and life goes on. At least after the halfway point, this campaign assumes NOTHING, even through the end of the PPC.

I also dig the random adventure generator, and I may even steal the d12 portion for my home adventures in other settings just to force myself to shake up how I lay out adventures.

The support is impressive as Hell, with the map being a great piece of work and the countdown deck being a ridiculously useful piece of innovation that he's already teasing being expanded to other genres.

Literally the only reasons not to download this are a) you hate Savage Worlds, b) you hate the concept or c) you're going to be a player in the game. This is seriously top notch stuff.

For my full review, please visit https://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2018/07/tommys-take-on-saga-of-goblin-horde.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
by Nakorn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2018 01:37:07

This book is so good I cannot believe the author gave it out for free. The content is amazing. The artwork is very nice. I really want to run this to my friends in Thailand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
by W C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2018 10:01:16

It's astonishing that a product of this quality is free. If you like Savage Worlds, this is simply a must-have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
by kender m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2018 11:13:54

You have all those goblin mini's sitting around, now it's time to customize them and give them some real personality!! My table has quite a bit of experience with Savage Worlds from my fantasy-cyberpunk campaign. They're used to me bringing one-shots to the table, but they rarely want to do more than two sessions of another campaign/setting. We're up to three sessions so far. My niece is now asking about RUNNING SotGH -- which is huge for me since I've been trying to get her to run her own D&D game for her friends for almost a year now. Although I wouldn't recommend this as a first campaign for first time GMs with inexperienced players, I would very, very highly recommend it as a first Savage Setting for first time GMs with experienced tables or for groups wanting to transition from other fantasy rules to the Savage Worlds system (and you can't go wrong with the price!). If you're already experienced with Savage Worlds, you'll appreciate the professionalism that has gone into this product. And don't forget to grab the one sheets, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
by Dave B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2018 22:55:56

I haven't run this campaign or read the book cover-to-cover, but after giving it a look-through, I have decided to rate it 5 stars based on value alone. After flipping through this book, you will definitely want to run a goblin-centric game and the book seems to have everything you would need to do just that. A Plot-Point Campaign, a robust Bestiary, new Setting Rules and more are on offer, and it's all delivered in concise and easy-to-read fashion. It also stands as a fine example of building on the Savage Worlds ruleset without sacrificing what makes it fun in the first place.

Well done and thanks to Zadmar!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood & Bile
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2018 05:59:05

I got this to introduce a friend to RPG!!! seems very straightforward and easy and lightweight, whilst maintaining Zadmar's trademark high quality and first class production and playability.

For only $1 too - you simply cannot go wrong!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood & Bile
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2018 05:57:10

Amazing stuff... so much depth, really well produced, lots and lots and lots of fun!!! better than the stuff in the Pinnacle books I'd say, this really does make SW super enjoyable - a must have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Eldritch Weapons (Savage Worlds)
by Bartek E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2018 03:20:25

Another great guide from Richard Woolcock (Zadmar)! He's got a lot more useful Savage Worlds content on his website as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eldritch Weapons (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
by Brent D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 22:14:59

GET THIS SETTING BOOK! Its an incredibly fun setting, and so well put together (not to mention its incredible looking). I still can hardly believe its free. Richard knocked it out of the park with this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Saga of the Goblin Horde: Configurable Map
by Glen B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2018 08:46:58

Great idea and a cool map, I particularly like the tribal fog feature. You can use the layers to show where the available adventures take place and turn off a hex grid for some hex-crawl shenanigans. You can also, if you want, turn off the title and text and use it as a generic fantasy map. I wish more maps used these features.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Goblin Horde: Configurable Map
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
by Jan J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2018 07:25:08

Great goblin madness! Well thought out setting with many hilarious goblin minutiae.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2018 07:12:08

Richard is a genius. SotGH is spectacular. Get it, AND all the accompaniments. Get green. Get mean.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Goblin Horde (Savage Worlds)
by Adamek P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 01:39:31

One of the best settings I have ever met. It is a cool setting with plenty of creative character options and the best bestiary in any Savage Worlds related book (and not just because every monster has a picture). The story of the Plot Point Campaign is also good, but it is really railroady and feels like the story has been built around the mechanics, not the other way around. But even so, it is one of my favorite Savage Worlds supplements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! The Plot Point adventures are indeed very railroady, you're right. However if you check out the "War Clock" and "Side Adventures" sections on page 50, there are some guidelines and advice for making the overall campaign more varied and flexible.
Blood & Bile
by Harold K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2018 02:50:53

Once again Richard knocks it out of the park with yet another GREAT product. A rules "light" system that is enjoyable and fun. And while you will need more than a few d6's for this, it is more than worth it. The setting, in which players get to play vampire's during the zombie apocalypse is a unique point of view. Richard does a wonderful job explaining system rules in an easy to understand way, which allows for easy of play . Richard also does a fantastic job presenting fun & exciting Plot Hooks/Seeds to work off of. Once again like I said, a fun and interesting product, I plan on introducing several of my friends and fellow games to Blood & Bile at my local gaming shop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood & Bile
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Blood & Bile
by Nathan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2018 09:37:07

A nice rules-lite system that can be run without a GM. You will need plenty of d6 but the results are worth it! There are three stats that are represented by different color dice. Creating characters is simple and intuitive using this method and you can get to the game quickly. My favorite part about this game (besides the incredible art and layout) is the premise. You're vampires during a zombie apocalypse! It's such a simple concept but has plenty to work with! Definitely worth a look!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG